Larimer County’s Environmental Stewardship Awards program seeking nominations

The 20th annual Larimer County Environmental Stewardship Awards program is underway. The awards acknowledge individuals and organizations in Larimer County who have undertaken activities that demonstrate exceptional stewardship of the environment. Residents, schools, agencies, government, businesses and other organizations are encouraged to participate. Projects can be self-nominated or nominated by others, and can be either one-time efforts or on-going activities.

A total of 71 awards have been presented since 1995 when the program began. In 2013 there were five recipients: Sarah Bayer, Troy Seaworth, Gallegos Sanitation Inc., James Shaklee and Richard Eversole.

The Board of County Commissioners, together with the Larimer County’s Environmental Advisory Board, is seeking nominations for 2014 efforts. The Environmental Advisory Board will review the initial nominations and make recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners who will present awards in December.

This year’s nomination deadline is Friday, Sept. 19.

For more information about the award or process please contact Doug Ryan, Larimer County Environmental Health at 970-498-6777, or Michelle Bird at the Board of County Commissioners’ Office, 970-498-7015,

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.