Larimer County seeking environmental stewardship award nominees

The Board of County Commissioners, together with the County’s Environmental Advisory Board, is seeking nominations for the 17th Annual Larimer County Environmental Stewardship Awards. The awards acknowledge individuals and organizations in Larimer County who have undertaken activities that demonstrate exceptional stewardship of the environment.

Residents, schools, agencies, government, businesses and other organizations are encouraged to participate. Projects can be self-nominated or nominated by others, and can be either one-time efforts or on-going activities.

[media-credit id=1 align=”alignleft” width=”88″][/media-credit]The deadline to nominate for the program is Aug. 31. Nominate online at or print a PDF form at, and mail it in to the address listed on the form.

A total of 58 awards have been presented since 1995 when the program began. In 2010, there were five recipients: Big Thompson Elementary School of Nature and Science; Wes Rutt/Beetle Busters Program; EnergyLogic; Rocky Mountain Raptor Program; and, National Center for Craftsmanship. See a complete list of winners since 1995 at

The Larimer County Environmental Advisory Board will review the initial nominations, and make recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners who will present awards in the late fall.

For more information about the Award or process please contact Doug Ryan, Larimer County Environmental Health at 970-498-6777, or Diane Tokarz at the Board of County Commissioners’ Office, 970-498-7015,

Support Northern Colorado Journalism

Show your support for North Forty News by helping us produce more content. It's a kind and simple gesture that will help us continue to bring more content to you.

BONUS - Donors get a link in their receipt to sign up for our once-per-week instant text messaging alert. Get your e-copy of North Forty News the moment it is released!

Click to Donate