Heffernan, Liggett, Nelson elected to Health District board

Tess Heffernan, Michael Liggett and Tracy Nelson have been elected to the board of directors for the Health District of Northern Larimer County.

Five candidates were running for three open seats on the Health District board. A total of 1,021 people voted in the special district election.

Preliminary results are:

Tess Heffernan – 733
Tracy Nelson – 656
Michael Liggett – 639
Clarissa Morrison-Heffern – 320
Rob Phillips – 260

Heffernan, 58, is a retired policy and project manager for the City of Fort Collins. Liggett, 63, is a Fort Collins lawyer. Nelson, 44, is a professor and associate director of the Colorado School of Public Health at Colorado State University. All are residents of Fort Collins.

The Health District is governed by a five-member board of directors. Members serve staggered, four-year terms and are elected at-large from the community. Elections are held every two years in even-numbered years.

The Health District provides dental, mental health, prescription assistance and health promotion services to residents of northern Larimer County.

Did you like what you just read?

Show your support for Local Journalism by helping us do more of it. It's a kind and simple gesture that will help us continue to bring stories like this to you.

Click to Donate


  1. WHY didn’t we get a ballot?? What kind of an election is this where not everyone gets to vote???

    • Special districts have different rules for elections, and usually require in-person voting because of mailing costs involved. Info for the election was here.

Comments are closed.