Nominations sought for Larimer County Environmental Stewardship Awards

The 20th Annual Larimer County Environmental Stewardship Awards program is underway. This year’s nomination deadline is Friday, September 19. You can nominate online at or print a PDF form at, and mail it in to the address listed on the form.

A total of 71 awards have been presented since 1995 when the program began. Last year there were five recipients: Sarah Bayer/project with Polaris School; Troy Seaworth/farming practices; Gallegos Sanitation Inc./Gallegos Sustainable Innovations program; James B Shaklee/Poudre Wilderness Volunteers weed program; and, Richard L Eversole/forest and wildlife habitat improvement.

The Board of County Commissioners, together with the County’s Environmental Advisory Board, is seeking nominations for 2014 efforts. The awards acknowledge individuals and organizations in Larimer County who have undertaken activities that demonstrate exceptional stewardship of the environment. Residents, schools, agencies, government, businesses, and other organizations are encouraged to participate. Projects can be self-nominated or nominated by others, and can be either one-time efforts or on-going activities.

The Larimer County Environmental Advisory Board will review the initial nominations, and make recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners who will present awards in December. For more information about the Award or process please contact Doug Ryan, Larimer County Environmental Health at 970-498-6777, or Michelle Bird at the Board of County Commissioners’ Office, 970-498-7015,

Support Northern Colorado Journalism

Show your support for North Forty News by helping us produce more content. It's a kind and simple gesture that will help us continue to bring more content to you.

BONUS - Donors get a link in their receipt to sign up for our once-per-week instant text messaging alert. Get your e-copy of North Forty News the moment it is released!

Click to Donate