Larimer County votes vary a bit from state results

Larimer County’s final but still unofficial election results for the entire jurisdiction indicate that the sentiments of Northern Colorado voters vary somewhat from state-wide results in candidate races but match up closely with state-wide ballot issue results.

In Larimer County, incumbent Democratic senator, Mark Udall, garnered 47.05% of the vote (68377) compared to victor Cory Gardner’s 47.44% (68942). State-wide Gardner won the contest with 49.32% of the votes compared with Udall’s 45.27%.

Congressional District 2, incumbent and eventual winner Democrat Jared Polis lost in Larimer County with 48.91% (68864) to loser Republican George Leing’s 51.09% (71930). State-wide stats: Polis: 55.28%, Leing 44.72%.

Incumbent Democratic Governor John Hickenlooper was chosen by 72255 voters in Larimer County, 50.03%, over Bob Beauprez’ 44.87% (64801). State-wide stats: Hickenlooper 48.43%, Beauprez: 47.02%.

In the race for Secretary of State, Democratic challenger Joe Neguse lost to Wayne Williams in Larimer County. Williams received 46.51% of the vote (64758) compared with Neguse’s 45.31% (63088). State-wide: Williams 48.48%, Neguse 44.10%.

Walker Stapleton won the state treasurer race, receiving 48.62% (67956) of Larimer County’s vote compared to Democrat Betsy Markey’s 45.97% (64259). State-wide: Stapleton 50.80%, Markey 44.21%.

GOP Cynthia Coffman won over Democrat Don Quick in the contest for attorney general 51.44% to Quick’s 41.82%. State-wide: Coffman 52.60%, Quick 41.40%.

Incumbent State Senator Kevin Lundberg (GOP) was unopposed in District 15 as was State Representative Perry L. Buck in District 49.

Incumbent representative Joann Ginal kept her District 52 seat and in District 53 Jeni Arndt will replace term limited representative Randy Fischer. Ginal garnered 55.14% of her district’s vote and Arndt’s percentage was 59.94%. Both women are Democrats.

County Commissioner Lew Gaiter fended off challenges from Kathy Gilliland and Eric Sutherland.

Angela Myers ran unopposed for Clerk and Recorder as did Irene Josey for treasurer and Justin Smith for sheriff. Surveyor Chad Washburn and Coroner James A. Wilkerson were also unopposed.

All judges and justices on the ballot were retained.

Larimer County votes closely matched state-wide figures for ballot measures. Jail, open space and taxes earmarked to build a new Humane Society building were approved, GMO labeling, a personhood amendment and race-track betting went down to defeat. Voters in Larimer County and across the state chose to require open meetings for school district operations.

Support Northern Colorado Journalism

Show your support for North Forty News by helping us produce more content. It's a kind and simple gesture that will help us continue to bring more content to you.

BONUS - Donors get a link in their receipt to sign up for our once-per-week instant text messaging alert. Get your e-copy of North Forty News the moment it is released!

Click to Donate