Larimer County Sheriff awards medals of valor, honors deputies, staff and volunteers

Larimer County Sheriff Justin Smith and the Larimer County Sheriff’s Office staff honored employees, volunteers and others who had exceptional performance this past year at their annual awards ceremony on Oct. 29. Awards for actions taken during the High Park Fire highlighted the evening as numerous people were recognized for their contributions including the awarding of two Medals of Valor, to Sergeant Tim Sullivan and Emergency Services Specialist Justin Whitesell, for exceptional bravery above and beyond the call of duty at serious risk of life or serious bodily injury.

Sheriff Smith said, “I am honored to recognize the outstanding professionalism and sacrifice made by so many during what has been a challenging year and am proud to award those whose actions during the High Park Fire made such a difference in our community. These men and women are true heroes who risked life and limb during that fire and I am proud beyond belief to serve with them.”

Support Northern Colorado Journalism

Show your support for North Forty News by helping us produce more content. It's a kind and simple gesture that will help us continue to bring more content to you.

BONUS - Donors get a link in their receipt to sign up for our once-per-week instant text messaging alert. Get your e-copy of North Forty News the moment it is released!

Click to Donate

The following awards were presented:

Medal of Valor: Awarded for exceptional bravery, above and beyond the call of duty, at serious risk of life or serious bodily injury.

Sergeant Tim Sullivan
ES Specialist Justin Whitesell

Distinguished Service Award: Awarded to an employee for sustained superior performance, over and above their normal duties, that was extremely beneficial to the community and reflected positively on the agency.

Corporal Ryan Berg
Corporal Jackie Knudsen
PIO John Schulz

Meritorious Service Award: Awarded for a specific incident or accomplishment which an employee performed in an outstanding manner, resulting in positive recognition for the employee and the agency.

Lieutenant Steven Bebell
Investigator Rita Servin
Parks Ranger Bill Schultze
Parks Ranger Kyle Williams
Parks Ranger Howell Wright

Unit Commendation: Awarded to an entire division, section, unit, or platoon to recognize an outstanding job or accomplishment by a team of individuals.

Jail Tiburon Group
Trailways Bomb Threat
Victim Advocates

Meritorious Service Award – High Park Fire: Awarded for the High Park Fire in which an employee performed in an outstanding manner, resulting in positive recognition for the employee and the agency.

Sergeant Jim Anderson
Deputy Justin Atwood
Sergeant Gerry Baker
Lieutenant Mike Brooks
Reserve Deputy Evan Brush
Ranger Mark Caughlan
Exec. Officer Nick Christensen
Sergeant Mark Clancy
Captain Robert Coleman
Lieutenant Robert Cook
Lieutenant Jim Disner
Deputy Ian Doty
Deputy Russell Downing
Deputy Earl Fawcett
Sergeant John Feyen
Ranger Chris Fleming
Sergeant Tim Fox
Reserve Deputy Jim Futterer
Deputy Steve Gates
Ranger Steve Gibson
Deputy Ryan Greene
Sergeant Brad Harkin
Deputy Jason Hart
Investigator Robert Heffernan
Sergeant Mark Hertz
Investigator Ben Hess
Deputy Harvey Hildreth
Reserve Deputy Larry Hofmann
Deputy Aaron Hulme
Deputy Cheryl Jacobs
Sergeant Kevin Johnston
Lieutenant Andy Josey
Deputy Kevin Kingston
Deputy Jim Lafferty
Lieutenant Mike Loberg
Ranger Jim Likens
Corporal Perry Malisani
Captain John Manago
Deputy Pete Mesecher
Deputy Kathleen Messick
ES Specialist Dave Mosier
Deputy Vincent Mosley
Undersheriff William Nelson
Investigator John Newhouse
Deputy Jack Newton
Captain Tim Palmer
Sergeant Mike Rairdon
Corporal Erik Reifschneider
Deputy Sam Roth
Sergeant Rafael Sanchez
Sergeant Rick Russell
Deputy Tyson Russell
Deputy Josh Sheldon
Deputy Scott Shellhaas
Sergeant Joe Shellhammer
Deputy Derek Signorelli
ES Specialist Tony Simons
Deputy Jamie Smith
Sheriff Justin Smith
Sergeant Ian Stewart
Sergeant Tim Sullivan
Ranger Will Talbott
Sergeant Jeff Vanhook
Corporal Ricky Wages
Deputy Drew Weber
Deputy James Westerfield
ES Specialist Justin Whitesell
Ranger Vic Wilcox
Deputy Justin Williamson
Deputy Ted Wilson
Ranger Colby Zander

Posse Meritorious Service Award – High Park Fire: Awarded to Larimer County Sheriff’s Office Posse members for the High Park Fire in which a member performed in an outstanding manner, resulting in positive recognition for the member and the agency.

Jim Alderden
Barb Bowman
Scott Carter
Jeff Clinton
Ken Conley
Dave Feldman
CJ Fell
Dave Jehu
Tom Keenan
Mike Keirns
Rex Mannon
Dennis Marsh
Kevin Marsh
Steve McKinley
Gary McLaughlin
Dean Olson
Gene Olson
John Perrine
Dick Reagan
James Remington
Nancy Remington
Archie Rodriquez
Virgil Taylor
Bob Troendly
Terry Urista

Sheriff’s Letters of Commendation: Awarded for job performance which is beyond what is normally expected of an employee or volunteer.

Barbara Bennett
Mike Sanders